Dolores Inés Casillas: Speaking “Mexican” and the use of “Mock Spanish” in Children’s Books (or Do Not Read Skippyjon Jones)

Some of the comments in regards to the article I’ve linked to below tell the author to lighten up, and to not take things so seriously, but this is clearly a case of laughing at someone else’s expense. I started reading The BFG by Roald Dahl the  other day and, while I’m a fan of his work, I couldn’t finish this book as the BFG uses the word Hottentot to describe people from Africa, and the physical disparities between the BFG and the other giants is too clichéd. I gave the book one star on Goodreads and I said in my review that I didn’t care if it makes me look like I don’t have a good sense of humor because I am at zero tolerance for language and depictions of people that is disparaging. Laughing at outdated stereotypes does not mean you have a good sense of humor, it means you are insensitive and sometimes cruel.

Speaking “Mexican” and the use of “Mock Spanish” in Children’s Books (or Do Not Read Skippyjon Jones).

Leave a Reply

